How to find (and delete) your TikTok history

Hand holding a mobile phone with a TikTok symbol on it and a background of illustrations.

One of the more frustrating aspects of TikTok used to be the difficulty in finding a video that you really liked and wanted to see again but had accidentally swiped past or watched a day or two ago. Previously, there was a long, complex series of steps you had to follow to find out your watch history on TikTok — making it hardly worth the effort. Now, however, you can easily find your watch history — and, if you want, erase it. All you have to do is:

  • Tap your Profile icon in the bottom-right corner of the screen.
  • Select the three-line icon in the top-right corner.
  • Tap on Settings and privacy > Activity center.

You should now see a gallery with all of the videos you’ve watched over the last 180 days. Tap on any that you’d like to rewatch.

Mobile screen with Watch History on top and several rows of TikTok videos below.

Mobile screen with Watch History on top and several rows of TikTok videos below.

Page with Watch history on top, and several rows of TikTok videos with red circles with checks in them in the corners, and a large Delete button at the bottom right.

Page with Watch history on top, and several rows of TikTok videos with red circles with checks in them in the corners, and a large Delete button at the bottom right.

If you want to erase any — or all — of the videos in your history, it’s simple to arrange. (You can, if you want, first save your watch history before you delete it from TikTok’s site by going back to Settings and Privacy, and then to Account > Download your data.) To delete one or more of the videos you’ve watched:

  • On the Watch history page, tap Select in the upper-right corner. Empty circles will appear in the upper-right corner of each video.
  • Tap the circle of each video you want to delete, and then hit the red Delete button in the lower-right corner.
  • If you want to clear out all your videos, use the Select all watch history button at the bottom left — which will check circles — and then tap the Delete button.

Be aware that, even if you’ve deleted all your videos, they’re not completely gone: TikTok’s explanation of watch history says that “we’ll continue to keep your watch history data for some time to optimize your experience.” In other words, TikTok will still be using your history to feed its algorithms.

Update March 8th, 2024, 4:07PM ET: This article was originally published on August 3rd, 2022, and has been updated to account for changes in the app.

SOURCE

Leave a Comment